The Nicoles Rock SXSW 2009

Dayna Nicole Kristen Nicole

Dayna Nicole Kristen Nicole

My best friend and cousin Dayna Nicole came to SXSW with me this year and I think we both had a great time. I can’t speak for Dayna, but I really think she got everything she was looking for from the trip to Austin.

You see, last year was my first time attending the SXSW conference and I enjoyed myself but I also worked really hard to get the stories, interviews and exclusives I got. While waiting 3 hours in the rain for the Facebook Developer Garage, which was featuring a follow-up Q&A session with Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg. And in my soggy state, I found myself complaining on the phone to Dayna. She responded that she was a tad jealous she wasn’t there and that she really wanted to go to SXSW next year.

Seriously? Seriously. If hearing laments of standing in the rain for hours sounds like a good time to anyone, then you know they’re serious about attending a conference such as SXSW.

And here we are, a week after SXSW ’09. I got some great work accomplished with my colleague Nick O’Neill, founder of the Social Times network. But more importantly, Dayna got inspired to follow her dream and work towards those goals she’s had lingering in the back of her head for some time now. And she even got some great opportunities to follow up on.

Dayna’s SXSW experience embodies everything that’s important about the conference, from the opportunities to meet, greet and network, to the shared experience of being at such a large event with like-minded individuals. With that said, be sure to follow Dayna on Twitter here.

6 thoughts on “The Nicoles Rock SXSW 2009

  1. Yay Nicoles🙂 I’m glad you both had a great experience this year. I love being surrounded by such awesome people who stop at nothing to make their dreams a reality. I love you guys. You two DO rock!

  2. >and in my soggy state, I found myself complaining on the phone to Dayna. She responded that she was a tad jealous she wasn’t there and that she really wanted to go to SXSW next year.

    You gotta love friends for giving us perspective when we need it. -Bob

Leave a Reply

