The Cure for Social Media Fatigue

I’ve been covering the social media news as a blogger for over four years now, most of that as a full-time blogger. Actually, most of that was more than full-time. Blogging takes up more than enough hours in my day. And I get tired. Sometimes I can’t think of many good things to say about social media. Consider it social media fatigue.

I take that as my cue to treat myself to a welcome distraction. A good friend of mine once told me that distractions help you focus. It didn’t make sense a the time, but I’ve since learned that the statement rings true. Let loose once in a while, and when it’s time to get back to work you’ll be better able to focus. It’s a mini mind vacation.

What I find truly helpful however is taking the time during my mini mind vacations to branch out and expand my mind. Do something different and take the opportunity to learn something new. It actually helps me do my job better, because it allows me to gain perspective on various topics.
Doing something simple like watching an educational (or veg-out) program on television, or going to a new museum exhibit can enable you to tap into a piece of culture that you may have otherwise missed. And believe me, it can actually allow you to understand your own work better.

Change is good for the brain and the soul, and can aide you in making new neural connections that improve your functionality in work and play. So regardless of what your career is, take time to learn a few new things during your mini mind vacation. It will help you out at work, your next cocktail party, and it will help keep you sane.

Image credit: SlashSeconds

3 thoughts on “The Cure for Social Media Fatigue

  1. I totally know what you mean. Vegging out in front of the tv or reading a book helps me decompress. I try to take a few mini breaks throughout the day. Sort of like the long-distance driving tip of taking a 5-10 min break every 2 hours even if you’re not tired.

  2. Pingback: Web Media Daily – Sat. June 20, 2009 | Reinventing Yourself...

Leave a Reply

